Hassan-aventure.com
Journeys and hikes in Morocco

HISTORY OF MOROCCO

    Next page  fleche_right



Moroccan flag

Allah, Alwatan , Al malik …. God, Homeland, King ….

That’s the moroccan slogan!


The prehistory



The man is already present, towards 800 000 before J-C, new populations of the Middle East live together with the descendants of the first inhabitants of Morocco. These newcomers are the ascendants of the Berbers family, widened by Mediterranean contributions.


The Pastoralism

By 1600 before J.C., in the Bronze Age, Berber ministers engrave on rocks in the High Atlas the drawings of daggers, of halberds, axes and shields, subjects used formerly by Mauritanian for two big activities : hunting and fishing.


The antiquity

Towards 800-600 before J-C, Morocco enters the history. The libyque writing, invented by the Berbers, appears in the Atlas. and Phoenician are drawn on potteries located on the Essaouira island by 500 before J-C, the Ethiopians, " those who are burned by the sun ", settle down in Morocco. In the North, stay-at-homes live in troglodytic houses; in the South, nomadic riders are hunting. Atlantes, as for them, occupies the center of the Atlas and give their name to the Atlantic Ocean.


In the IV th century before J.C. : birth of Maurétania

The Greeks name the "Mauritians" the western Libyans, naming which the current western inhabitants of Morocco and Algeria give themselves. Between 25 before J-C. and 23 after J-C, Juba II, King of Mauretania, is named at the head of the Kingdom by August and stays in Volubilis. He describes the country in a book used later by Pline. He installs factories of purple on the Mogador island, off Essaouira, and cross the Canary Islands with his navy.


In 42 after J-C., the Roman conquest

The Roman armies take possession of Mauretania Tingitane, highlighted by the creation of roads, knows an agricultural development and an active business. Tingis, Lixus, Volubilis, Benassa spread out. The Roman influence will be preserved in the South, until 429, dates of the transit of the Vandals in this part of Mauritania Tingitane. It would seem that from 533, the Byzantine fleets then Wisigothe occupied Ceuta and Essaouira, only rare objects remain from their visit.


The Moslem conquest

The Islamization : from 682, the Arabic leader Oqba Ibnou Nafi'i, founding of Kairouan, the first Moslem city in Tunisia, begins a raid to the Atlantic Coasts. Berbers and Byzantines rise in rebellion against the invader, but the Moslem Arabs succeed in extending their domination, and so making the Islamization of the populations progress.

In 711, the landing of the Berber leader Tariq Ibnou Zyad in Gibraltar will mark the beginning of the conquest of Spain.

The caliphate crisis: The Moslem domination strengthens in spite of the making of Kingdoms with rebellious religious doctrines, like the Kingdom kharidjite of Sigilmassa, in Tafilalet, or that of Berghouata, on the Atlantic coast. In 740, an important revolt broke out against the authorities of Damascus, seat of the Caliphate Omeyyade. Little by little, Morocco escapes from their power, and splits in numerous Kingdoms and Principalities.


The idrisside Dynasty

In 788, birth of the first Moslem dynasty, of Middle-Eastern origin. In 791, creation of the Morrocan State. Idriss Ier, descendant of Ali, son-in-law of the prophet, will flee Arabia to escape the massacre of his family, to settle down in Volubilis and will found Fes which, after its death in 792, will be designated as the Capital of the Kingdom by his son successor Idriss II. This last one will take care of the construction of the city in 803, he died in 828. The administration of the Kingdom will be entrusted to his sons, then to his brothers. The economic life will be prosperous in Fes. In 857 and 859 the city will take advantage of prodigious mosques Quaraouiyine and of Andalusians. At the beginning of the XI century, the Idrissides are Caliphs in Cordoba until the division of Spain causes their decline and their disappearance in 1055.


The almoravide dynasty

Berber dynasty native from the Western Sahara, their name comes, from the Arabic "Al Mourabitoun" means the warlike monks, had as Sultan: Youssef Ibn Tachfine who will build the city of Marrakesh (the future capital of the Kingdom) by 1070, then will take care of the political unification between Morocco and Moslem Spain. Through him, the Andalusian civilization will extend in the Maghreb, then at the head of the troops Almoravides, will take possession of Spain up to the Ebre. Ali Ben Youssef, his son, will succeed him in 1106 to reign there during 37 years.





                            fleche_haut        Next page  fleche_droite

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid CSS!

Hassan-aventure.com
Voyages et randonnées au Maroc

Histoire du Maroc

    Page suivante  fleche_droite



Drapeau marocain

Allah, Alwatan , Al malik …. Dieu, Patrie, Roi ….

C’est la devise du Maroc


La préhistoire



L'homme est déjà présent, vers 800 000 av.J-C, sur le rivage Atlantique, comme le témoignent les outils retrouvés à Casablanca, les plus ancestraux, d'ailleurs, d'Afrique du Nord. Vers 5000 ans av.J-C, de nouvelles populations du Proche-Orient cohabitent et se mêlent aux descendants des premiers habitants du Maroc. Ces nouveaux venus sont les ascendants de la famille des Berbères, élargie par des apports méditerranéens.


Le Pastoralisme

Vers 1600 av J-c., à l'âge du Bronze, des pasteurs Berbères gravent sur des rochers du Haut Atlas des dessins de poignards, de hallebardes, de haches et de boucliers, sujets utilisés autrefois par les mauritaniens pour les deux grandes activités du moment : la chasse et la pêche.


L'antiquité

Vers 800-600 av J-C., le Maroc entre dans l'histoire. L'écriture libyque, inventée par les Berbères, apparaît dans l'Atlas et des Phéniciennes sont marquées sur des poteries repérées sur l'île d'Essaouira vers 500 av J-C., les Ethiopiens, "ceux qui sont brûlés par le soleil", s'installent au Maroc. Au nord, casaniers, ils vivent dans des logis troglodytiques ; au sud, cavaliers nomades, ils s'adonnent à la chasse. Les Atlantes, quant à eux, occupent le centre de l'Atlas et donnent leur nom à l'océan Atlantique.


Au IV ème siècle av. J-C., naissance de la Maurétanie

Les Grecs nomment les "Mauriciens" les Libyens occidentaux, appellations que les habitants du Maroc et de l'Algérie occidentale actuels se donnent eux mêmes. Entre 25 av J-C. et 23 ap. J-C, Juba II, Roi de Maurétanie, est installé à la tête du Royaume par Auguste et réside à Volubilis . Il décrit le pays dans un livre utilisé plus tard par Pline . Il installe des fabriques de pourpre sur l'île de Mogador, au large d'Essaouira, et sillonne les îles Canaries par sa marine.


En 42 ap J-C., la conquête romaine

Les armées Romaines prennent possession de la Maurétanie Tingitane, mise en valeur par la création des routes, connaît un essor agricole et un commerce actif. Tingis, Lixus, Volubilis, Benassa se développent. L'influence romaine se conservera au sud, jusqu'en 429, date du passage des Vandales dans cette partie de la Mauritanie Tingitane . Il semblerait qu'à partir de 533, les flottes Byzantines puis Wisigothe aient occupé Ceuta et Essaouira ; il ne subsiste que de rares objets de leur passage.


La conquête musulmane

L'islamisation : Dés 682, le chef Arabe Oqba Ibnou Nafi'i, fondateur de Kairouan, la première cité musulmane en Tunisie, entame un raid jusqu'aux côtes atlantiques. Berbères et Byzantins se soulèvent alors contre l'envahisseur, mais les Arabes musulmans parviennent à étendre leur domination, faisant ainsi progresser l'islamisation des populations.

En 711, le débarquement du chef Berbère Tariq Ibnou Zyad à Gibraltar marquera le début de la conquête de l’Espagne.

La crise du califat: La domination musulmane se consolide malgré la formation de Royaumes aux doctrines religieuses insoumises, comme le Royaume kharidjite de Sigilmassa, dans le Tafilalet, ou celui de Berghouata, sur le littoral Atlantique. En 740, éclate une importante révolte contre les autorités de Damas, siège du Califat Omeyyade. Peu à peu, le Maroc échappe à leur pouvoir, et se morcelle en nombreux Royaumes et Principautés.


La Dynastie idrisside

En 788, aura naissance de la première dynastie musulmane, d'origine moyen-orientale. En 791, création de l'État Marocain. Idriss Ier, descendant d'Ali, gendre du prophète, fuira l'Arabie pour échapper au massacre de sa famille pour venir s'installer à Volubilis et fondera Fès qui, après sa mort en 792, sera désignée capitale du Royaume par son fils successeur Idriss II. Ce dernier s'occupera de la construction de la ville en 803. il mourut en 828. L'administration du Royaume sera confiée à ses fils, puis à ses frères. La vie économique sera prospère à Fès. En 857 et 859 la cité se prévaudra des prodigieuses mosquées Quaraouiyine et des Andalous. Au début du XI ème siècle, les Idrissides sont indiqués Califes à Cordoue jusqu'à ce que la division de l'Espagne cause leur décadence et leur disparition en 1055.


La dynastie almoravide

Dynastie Berbère originaire du Sahara occidental, leur nom de l'arabe "Al Mourabitoun" signifie les moines guerriers, avait comme Sultan : Youssef Ibn Tachfine qui construira la ville de Marrakech (future capitale du Royaume) vers 1070, puis s'occupera ensuite de l'unification politique entre le Maroc et l'Espagne musulmane. A travers lui, la civilisation Andalouse se répandra au Maghreb, puis à la tête des troupes Almoravides, s'emparera de l'Espagne jusqu'a l'Èbre. Ali Ben Youssef, son fils, lui succédera en 1106 pour y régner pendant 37 ans.





                            fleche_haut        Page suivante  fleche_droite

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid CSS!